ABS Sponsors the Greek Shipping Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Dinner

ABS at the Greek Shipping Hall of Fame
From left to right: Fragkiskos Kanellakis (Pantheon Tankers), Stamatis Fradelos (ABS), Leonidas Polemis (Polembros Shipping), Spyros Polemis (Polembros Shipping), Vassilios Kroustallis (ABS), Antonis Comninos (Phoenix Energy Navigation), Elina Comninou (Phoenix Energy Navigation), Elias Kariambas (ABS), Marielena Prokopiou (Dynacom), Konstantinos Lampsias (Dynacom), Christos Nomikos (ABS)


ABS recently sponsored the Greek Shipping Hall of Fame’s 5th Induction Ceremony & Dinner that took place earlier this month in Athens.

During the event Vassilios Kroustallis, ABS Vice President for Europe, delivered a speech to more than 650 guests from the Greek shipping community, and friends and partners of the global industry where he congratulated the latest Inductees.     

“It is an honor and privilege to be a part of tonight’s event. The people we are celebrating tonight exemplify leadership and embody the pioneering spirit that has defined the maritime industry for centuries. We are doing our best to live up to their legacy,” said Kroustallis.

Kroustallis continued, “As the leading class society in Greece, we have supported the growth of our industry into new areas, new vessels and backed its success all over the world. ABS understands the need to continue driving innovation and advancing disruptive technology which is why we continue to invest in Greece today. Many of the shipping industry’s great achievements have started right here, and we believe that the future leaps forward will have their roots here too. “




Announcement of the two Inductees for 2018 was accompanied by testimony to their character and accomplishments.

A highlight of the event was a special tribute made to Greek shipping legend Manuel Kulukundis (1898-1988), one of the first four personalities inducted into the Hall of Fame back in 2007.

A portion of the proceeds from the event was donated to the children’s charity, Hellenic Hope. Dimitris Fafalios, the chairman of international shipping association Intercargo, presented the donation on behalf of the Hall of Fame to Andreas Bouras, Chief Executive Officer of Hellenic Hope.